Home > Interviews > Raw interview: Scramblelock (part 3)

Raw interview: Scramblelock (part 3)

What is your daily training regime (including supplementary training like exercise and stretching), and has this changed significantly over the years?

Ever since I was in high school I had different training routines. Initially it was just stretching daily and doing pushups, situps, etc as well as practicing almost every day. As I got older I had more on my plate so I had to manage my time more effectively. Nowadays I try to get in 2 or 3 practices a week plus going out dancing at clubs on weekends. Montreal is pretty dope for funk jams and such, so there’s usually always somewhere nice to go dancing on weekends. In addition I had some bboys put me on the conditioning tip and Ive also been doing a training program called Insanity. The name speaks for itself.

You regularly teach classes in Montreal. Does teaching the dance to others improve your own understanding of the dance?

Absolutely! From teaching I’ve learned many many things. Not just about dance but also on how to deal with people of all sorts of age groups/backgrounds etc. From teaching others I’ve learned how to develop my own techniques for teaching, routines (and remembering routines!) It also gives you perspective and can help you see where you once may have stood as a dancer starting out. In a way it gave me a greater appreciation and respect for my teachers and the patience they must have had to school me! Teaching is a big responsibility and I take it very seriously. You can learn a lot from your students as well. I’m still a student of the dance and have my elders that I look up to and turn to for advice/support and so the motto “each one teach one” is something I try to keep in mind along this journey of dance!
I’ve also been fortunate to have taught in countries across Europe as well and out there, I learned that even if you can’t speak a certain language you speak through your dance and that is something very powerful!

What mistake do most beginners typically make, and what one advice would you give them?

“Funky” does not equal “Funny” all the time! Locking is as serious of a dance as bboying and popping and Im not saying you got to be angry but you got to be true to yourself. Dont fake the funk! Funk comes in all forms, feelings and emotions. Learning how to bring that funk out from within is something very difficult and takes years of work!
In relation to this: BE HUMBLE! Many people think they just need to learn a few moves in locking and they’ll get it, but locking is really really hard! Again, it takes years of practice and straight schooling, if you don’t stay open it’s going to be a lot harder to really develop.

Are there any dancers from the Canadian scene you would like to give a shout out to?

Shoutout to my locking partners in funk:

Treklock
Loose Canon
Boombeast
Baby L
Funky Miko
Sun

I also got to mention a slew of other dancers. Here we go!

Frank Boogie, Tony Three, Licorice Lloydd, Boogaloo Storm, Neo, Bonez, Funk Mystic, Sirreal, Popsikal Pete, Fon, Monstapop, Venom, Sam I Am, Dazl, Namo, Tash, Rick Slade, Bag of Trix, Boogie Brats, Supernaturalz, Stylordz, Canadian Floor Masters, Famous Circle, Treble, Tabu, Lazy Legz, Illmask and Fresh Format.
I also have to shout out Son of S.O.U.L., Alan Cross, Frank BLVD, Professor Groove and DJ Static of WeFunk Radio, Ruby Jane and all the Toronto and Montreal funk DJs who have been a huge influence.

Finally, the hardest question: What was your most memorable moment in dancing for you?

Most memorable would have to be the first time I went to LA on my own in 2004. I really got to see what the international dance community was all about and it was the first time I went to the Bboy Summit and Freestyle Session. After going to those two events, I knew I wanted to make dance an important part of my life, beyond just a hobby. I think it was the most memorable because it was one of the first powerful moments next to maybe the first time I decided I wanted to learn to break or lock.

Lots of memorable moments have happened since then. I have never travelled as much as I have this past year and I met so many wonderful people through dance. Being at BOTY or Juste Debout and seeing the amount of people who unite for dance is very awe inspiring. Even just simple moments like hitting up a funk club with your friends or getting a compliment by a teacher you look up to and have them say “you’re on the right track, keep it up!” is pretty memorable.

Be sure to visit Scramblelock’s website, and also take a look at his amazing Love City video.

For more interviews, click here. To receive regular updates, subscribe to RSS Feeds.

Categories: Interviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 21, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

