Home > Interviews, Uncategorized > Raw interview: Eric from Liquid Pop Collective

Raw interview: Eric from Liquid Pop Collective

This is the email interview I had with Eric from LPC. My actual article on Eric can be read in the post above.

Where were you born? Describe your upbringing.
*I was born in Northern NJ about 25 minutes from NYC. I was brought up in a blue collar working class family.

How did you end up in the NY electro scene?
*Even since I was small I can remember being attracted to electronic influenced music. When MTV first started out I used to wait for bands like Depeche Mode, Eurythmics, Pet Shop boys, Michel Jackson, Genesis ECT. So when in my early teens I was listening to freestyle music along with house .When I got my chance to go to my first party in NYC with my older cousin it was on. The whole evolution for me just seemed to make sense like someone was holding my hand guiding me where to go. One i had my first taste in 1993 there was no turning back.

How did liquid and digitz evolve in the early electro scene, and how did you come into contact with it?
*With liquid it was very basic and only in the hands. The whole thing about liquid was the “bug out” . Making someone go WOW did I just see that? It was a social thing and everyone seemed to have their own version of it. There where other people like myself that it was a obsession something that had to be figured out at any cost. It was something very free form on the early years and the one common thing is that it had to “flow” to be liquid and however you got that done it was ok.
The first time I seen a style of liquid that really moved me was in 1995 at a club north of Philly called Outback Jacks. They had a small Sunday night party that I found when I first moved to Philly. This is where I met a girl named Chrissie who absolutely had the most unique style of liquid I had ever seen up until that point. She incorporated her whole body into her flow. She is the genesis for what my style is today and part of her still lives in my flow. She totally changed my perspective on what liquid could be.

Which dancers and teachers made the greatest impression on you at the beginning?
Yikes… with liquid its different no one back then was pushing you forward with it but you. Now with Popping and Waving there were a few guys who came to electronic music parties. I don’t want to name anyone because I might forget someone but you know who you are if you are reading this! BOSTON, NYC, DC, BALT,PHILLY and last but not least DIRTY JEEEEEEEZE RESPECT!

Did ego and competition play a significant role in this dancing culture?
Well not on the surface. There were a million of casual dancers who happily rave skipped the night away. I would say between the serious folks like myself it was a matter a pride and respect. When someone had dope liquid it was more of a respect thing because no one was forcing you to be good at liquid but you. There are dancing jerks in every dance scene, who sole purpose in life was to make themselves feel better by belittling the person next to them .
They can eat a dick. đŸ˜›
Dance is about bringing people together from all cultures and nations. Every culture on this planet dances since the days of banging on animal skin drums in Africa.

What is it about liquid and digitz that drove you to perfect it?
To me it was like magic and in a was its sleight of hand that kept me coming back. I don’t think I have perfected anything to date. Every time I do liquid I learn something new about the dance.
Always a student.

What is the most common mistake beginning liquid dancers make, and what advice should all new dancers know?
BE YOURSELF. YOU DONT NEED TO LOOK LIKE ANYONE ELSE. If you like something take it and make it your own. Find you own flavor be unique LISTEN to the music and let it move you.

What did your daily practice sessions consist of?
Going out and dancing 5 nights a week for 10 years. I never really practiced at home but, when you are at a party for 8 + hours and dancing the majority of the time you will get good.

Describe how you and your fellow dancers created LPC crew and started producing videos and tutorials.
I put out my first video clip of liquid in 1999 via Napster and this is how it all started. I got such a positive response from the video that when LPC got together we made a few promo clips and let them fly. I am amazed they are still on the internet given it’s been 10+ years my original liquid clip I believe is 12.
The video talked about it for awhile after we would come back from parties. One day I finally said screw it and took out a 10 grand loan in my name to make it happen. We had a core group of very talented friends who without their help and guidance the video never would of happened. Especially Ricardo Rivera who filmed our video who now owns http://www.klip.tv and Imri Meritt who runs reflective.net. Imri did the sleeve art and music soundtrack.

Describe the reaction of the LPC members to the success of these videos.
We actually where very very surprised. We knew people wanted to learn but had no idea it was on the scale it was. We also caught a sweet time in the rise of rave culture when it crossed over to all the main stream kids who were coming to check out the parties.

What factors led to the break up of LPC?
EGO’s and MONEY.

How do you compare the electro scene of today to the one in the 90s?
Is it true that the Federal US government effectively banned such events so that they died out?
Right now what little of it is left in the states is a far cry from the murder we were getting away with in the 90’s. Ask anyone who has was a regular to the Tunnel, Lime Light, Sound Factory, Twilo, Shelter in the hay day how absolutely bonkers it was. That was the club scene, the rave scene in NYC was just as crazy if not more so because there were no permits . Kids would be wandering around some abandon warehouse in Brooklyn raving out.. Think about it!?
There was the club scene and the rave scene. Two different cultures with a similar vein. When the club owners found out how much money the rave promoters where making they basically when to L&I to snitch on the rave parties and get them busted. They had promoters outside the busted parties handing out flyers to their clubs… ahhh capitalism at its finest. That when the mingling of the rave scene and the club kids mixed.
If you want a good idea of the NYC party scene and its genesis and evolution read the book Generation Ecstasy. There even have some references to liquid in the book.
Through the RAVE act the federal government made the penalties so stiff for throwing a party
that it basically killed off the entire scene. The British government did the same thing in the 80’s to stop the culture there.
In NYC Rudi Guallini basically muscled all the clubs and “undesirable” establishments shut down during his crusade to clean up Manhattan. This coupled with the rave act and 911 killed off all the best clubs in NYC. RIP……..

You described the party life in NY as harsh, so harsh that some of your friends got lost in it. How much of a problem were violence (you mentioned the BTS crew) and drugs?
Very, You would see fights and people getting mugged at parties for their money and drugs. I have attached a document to the email that basically breaks down the whole BTS. This is the best explanation I could share.

Which new dancers do you see today that uphold and help develop liquid and digitz as a dance form?
Well right now the biggest cache of dedicated dancers are on FLOASIS.net. They are a bunch of guys who got involved with LPC when we first started out. The currently are carrying the torch for Liquid and Digitz.

What are your current projects and future plans?
I would like in the future to get out and teach liquid formally in a work shop fashion.

Finally, describe your most memorable moment in dancing.
Wow, that is hard. I would have to say a yearly party called Starscape thrown by Ultra world down in Baltimore. I think the party was in 2003. I was with my future wife and all the LPC guys. We watched the sun come up out on the dock over the water ( this dock was destroyed during a hurricane in 2004) to the sound track of MOS DEF’S UMI says. It was surreal after a full night of dancing together. Those are the moments I miss the most now a days…

I just want to shout out,
TIny Love , and the rest of the Liquid Lights crew repping NYC. You can’t talk about liquid in its infancy and not mention them. They predate LPC by a few years and where defiantly holding it down for the Liquid and Rave heads.
REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESPECT!

Categories: Interviews, Uncategorized
  1. June 19, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    word. good stuff.

  2. P
    July 15, 2012 at 11:45 am

    I remember Eric done a robot dance for charity with someone else, can any1 give me the link or most importantly the site where he keeps all these?

  1. June 19, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

